officially supported in the following countries:

  • United States
  • Canada
  • United Kingdom
  • Germany
  • Austria
  • Japan
  • India
  • France
  • Italy
  • Spain
  • Mexico
  • Brazil
  • Australia
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Sweden

The Fire TV Stick Basic Edition works in:

Albania, Barbados, Belgium, Bermuda, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, Finland, Ghana, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macao, Malta, Namibia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Trinidad & Tobago, Uruguay, Venezuela.

According to Amazon, in order to use your compatible device in a different supported country, you must simply change the country settings for your Amazon account. Amazon also notes that:

  • Content availability varies by country.
  • When you change the country settings for your Amazon account, you’ll no longer be able to access any of your Prime Video purchases or rentals. Your purchases will still be available if you change back to your original country settings, but any rentals will no longer be available.
  • Some apps and games may not work in your new country. If you have questions about app compatibility, contact the app developer.

Watching Amazon Fire TV While Abroad

Amazon also advises its customers:

The Movies and TV Shows categories in the Fire TV menu change automatically to include Watch While Abroad rows. These rows show all titles included with Prime that are available to watch while traveling abroad without changing your account settings.

EU Residents

Amazon advises their customers who are EU residents that while traveling within the European Union, have access to the same titles that are available when streaming from their country of residence.